Announcing “The Dave” Prize Winners and Honourable Mentions

The Manitoba Writers’ Guild is thrilled to announce our prize winners for the 2nd annual Dave Williamson National Short Story Competition.


First Prize: The Promise – Lisa Pollock, Calgary, Alberta

Second Prize: Canadian Cougars – Elle Qunmei Taylor, Grande Pointe, Manitoba

Third Prize: A Good Day on Clothes – Yvonne Kyle, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Honourable Mentions

Homeward Bound – Rowan McCandless, Winnipeg

Pies – Cheryl Parisien, Winnipeg

The Carnival of Bones – Margaret Spratt, Winnipeg

Queen of the Railroad Bridge – Kathleen Vance. Gibson, BC

All these stories will be published in Beyond Boundaries II, which will be launched at the Video Pool in Artspace on May 9. Watch for further information. 


Skip to content