MANTIBOA WRITERS' GUILD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES SATURDAY, OCTOBER 15TH, 2022, 11:00 a.m. VIRTUAL BY ZOOM

ATTENDANCE:

DIRECTORS:

- Danie Botha
- Andrew Dutfield
- Sharon Hamilton
- Carrie Hatland
- Susan Rocan
- Clarice Sinohin
- David Yerex Williamson (non-voting)

MEMBERS:

- JR (Roxane) Anderson (non-voting)
- Sharron Arksey
- Donna Besel
- Annie Deeley
- Shayla Elizabeth
- Alyssa Gallano
- Jenny Gates
- Lori Gaudet
- Bev Greenberg (non-voting)
- Brian Hughes
- Nathalie Kaboha
- Louella Lester
- Anna Leventhal
- David Lightfoot
- Judy Linton
- George Magnusson (non-voting)
- Gloria Moodrey
- Melva McLean
- Robert Stermcheg (non-voting)
- Anna Valdron (non-voting)
- Dennis Valdron (non-voting)
- Katherine Westwood
- Dave Williamson (Lifetime Member)
- Alison York
- 1. CALL TO ORDER: 11:05am

- 2. TREATY ONE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT: Sharon Hamilton
- 3. MOTION TO APPROVE AGENDA: Andy/Danie. Carried
- **4.** MOTION TO ACCEPT MINUTES OF OCTOBER 16TH, 2021 AGM: Dave Williamson/Donna Besel. Carried.
- **5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT** (Included in AGM Packet, p. 6): Andy Dutfield provided an overview of the past year's activities, emphasizing the Guild's dependence on membership dues and donations and thanking members for their support.
 - **a.** He mentioned that the financial support will show a current cash position much more comfortable than recent previous years.
 - **b.** He mentioned how COVID and ZOOM enabled the Guild to attract and involve members province-wide. He specifically mentioned this effect in the cross-province engagement in our two adult critique circles.
 - **c.** He then highlighted our new and thriving Youth Writing Circle and the development of an application for provincial funding to expand the youth writing program to schools throughout the province, thanking Carrie Hatland for her extensive work in developing the grant application.
 - **d.** Andy next mentioned our new writing competition, the Dave Williamson National Short Story Competition, thanking Dave Williamson for accepting our offer of serving as Honorary Patron of the competition and Alex Dawson and Sharon Hamilton for stewarding the process from concept to reality.
 - **e.** Andy continued his appreciation of volunteers and board members by thanking Gloria Moodrey for her years of administering the Writing Critique Circles and Sylvia Cote for her willingness to take over this responsibility, thanking Danie Botha for his leadership of the Programming Committee, Katherine Westwood for digitizing and re-organizing the membership system so that we can more aggressively retain our members. He gave thanks to Lori Gaudet for her creative and reliable production of bi-monthly newsletters as well as her expanding our presence on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook. He welcomed Alyssa Gallano as a new volunteer working also to expand our social network presence.
 - **f.** Andy mentioned that our fundraising efforts have diminished following the loss of Kelly Ross on the Board and that one of the three new Directors will be assigned to take her lead. We are all hoping for a positive response to our provincial funding application while remaining cognizant that we are still restricted by past errors.
 - g. Andy concluded by stating "we are working hard to restore our reputation."

Jenny Gates asked how we plan to tip funding in our favour. Susan Rocan responded by explaining our dilemma: because we have no paid staff, we are ipso facto ineligible for

most arts funding grants; however, we have insufficient funds to hire paid staff, even on a part time basis. Andy pointed out that if our current grant proposal is successful, it will cover the cost of one paid staff person.

- **6. TREASURER'S REPORT** (The Final Treasurer's report, Annual Financial Statements for fiscal year just ended, and annual Operating Budget for the upcoming year were sent to attendees separately).
 - **a.** Clarice Sinohin outlined her history with the Board, mentioning that she has stewarded the Guild's financial situation through the worst times and toward our current trend of improvement.
 - **b.** The Guild now uses Square or e-transfer for memberships, donations, registrations, purchases and so on.
 - **c.** Clarice also explained why we took out Directors' Insurance, that it is a prerequisite to get Volunteer Manitoba's support in marketing our organization to prospective Board Directors. It also gives our Directors peace of mind.
 - **d.** Clarice mentioned that the Guild could now cover up to 52 months of expenses at our current operating rates if no further funds came in. This figure is up significantly from the 36 months we could cover at this time last year.
 - **e.** <u>MOTION:</u> Clarice moved approval of the Financial Statement, subject to Board review once audit is complete (expected within a couple of weeks). Seconded by Danie. Carried.
 - **f. MOTION:** Clarice moved the appointment of the Exchange Group auditors for 2022/23. Seconded by Jenny Gates. Carried.

7. MEMBERSHIP DUES:

- **a.** Andy Dutfield mentioned that the tri-level dues structure of \$60 for Regular annual membership; \$30 for Student/Low-income; and \$10 for Youth has not been changed for at least 8 years. He proposed an increase of up to 10% in the fee structure for the 2023/24 membership year.
- **b.** David Lightfoot recommended that the fee for writers on fixed or low income remain the same.
- **c.** Danie Botha recommended raising the regular fee to \$70 while leaving the low-income and student fees the same as they now are.
- **d.** A brief discussion ensued about the donation button on the membership registration form whereby those who could afford it could make a donation while renewing their membership. Several members this past year have given donations with their membership renewal.
- e. <u>MOTION:</u> Andy moved that the regular membership fees be raised to \$65 annually, while keeping the Student/Low income and Youth rates at \$30 and \$10 respectively. Seconded by David Lightfoot. Carried.
- **f.** Andy added that anyone who donates more than \$20 will received an official tax receipt.

g. Andy also mentioned that the Guild will be more assertive in reminding members to renew, with reminders sent out a couple of months prior to actual renewal time.

8. Committee Reports

- a. Programming Committee (page 8 of the AGM packet)
- **b.** Marketing, Communication and Membership (page 11 of the AGM packet)
- **c.** Fundraising (referenced in the President's Report)
- d. Nomination and Governance (page 12 of the AGM packet).

9. Directors' Election

Susan Rocan presented the slate of directors for 2022/23.

Entering second year of two-year term: Clarice Sinohin (Treasurer) Sharon Hamilton (Vice-President) Kamal Malaker Kamalpreet Singh

Entering first of their second two-year term: Andrew Dutfield (President) Susan Rocan (Past President) Danie Botha

New Directors: David Yerex Williamson Carrie Hatland Parama Ray

MOTION: Susan moved acceptance of the above slate of directors for 2022/23. Seconded by Donna Besel. Carried.

Donna Besel commented on the significance of David Yerex Williamson from Norway House on the slate as a sign that the Manitoba Writers' Guild was expanding its province-wide inclusion.

Danie Botha thanked President Andy Dutfield for his leadership and stewardship of the Guild.

10. MOTION: Danie moved adjournment of the AGM at 11:58 am.