Dave Williamson National Short Story Longlist Announced

The longlist for the inaugural Dave Williamson National Short Story Competition has been announced!

Our 13 longlisters (in alphabetical order according to author’s last name):

Bicycle Pete. Donna Besel. Lac du Bonnet, MB
Return to Chrysalis. Bruce Cinnamon. Edmonton, AB
Sketches. Gaylene Dutchyshen. Gilbert Plains, MB
Legend of the Magpie: An Original Métis Story. Clarence Merle Klyne. Ashern, MB
Eyes. Savithri Machiraju. Edmonton, AB
TEOTWAWKI. Rowan McCandless. Winnipeg, MB
The Redhead. Sharon McInnes. Cumberland, BC
The Other Side of the Map. Eleonore Schonmeier. Ketch Harbour, NS
Saskatchewan. Mitchell Toews. Rennie, MB
Last Trip to the Drive In. D. G. Valdron. Winnipeg, MB
Fallen From Grace. Thila Varghese. London, ON
On the Edge of My Couch. Thila Varghese. London, ON
Cutting School. Leslie Wakeman. Lac du Bonnet, MB

From the first set of readings by our preliminary judges to the final reading of our lead judges, the Guild followed the process of blind-judging. The only information the judges had was the title and word count of each story.

Whenever judges realized, from reading the story, the identity of the author, they immediately recused themselves from discussions and votes related to that story.


Financial assistance provided by the Manitoba Arts Council.

Skip to content